BABY & ME – Tobacco Free™

The goal of BABY & ME – Tobacco Free Program™ is to reduce the number of health problems caused by tobacco use and secondhand smoke by decreasing the number of women who smoke during and after their pregnancy. Health problems for both mothers and babies include:

  • Pregnancy complications
  • Premature birth
  • Low-birth weight infants
  • Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS)

 

 

How the Program Works

Any pregnant woman who is currently a tobacco user, or was using tobacco products three months prior to becoming pregnant, is eligible for the program, regardless of income level.

Women enrolled in the program attend four prenatal sessions, where they receive information on tobacco cessation and take a carbon monoxide (CO) breath test. Program members return for breath tests at monthly post-partum visits for up to six months. If tobacco-free, the program member receives a $50 voucher at each postpartum session for any brand or size of diapers at participating stores.

To enroll, connect with your nearest North Dakota BABY & ME Program provider:

 

Health System City Program Facilitator Phone Number Email
Altru Health System Grand Forks Nicole Brien (701) 780-5347  nbrien@Altru.org
Altru Clinic Devils Lake Nicole Brien (701) 780-5347 nbrien@Altru.org
CHI St. Alexius Health Bismarck Rajean Backman (701) 530-8538  rbackman@primecare.org
City-County Health District Valley City Heather Schwehr (701) 845-8595   hschwehr@barnescounty.us
Essentia Health Fargo Cheri Thomson (701) 364-4524  Cheri.Thomson@EssentiaHealth.org
Essentia Health Wahpeton Lindsey Bommersbach (701) 671-4146 Lindsey.Bommersbach@EssentiaHealth.org
Family HealthCare Fargo Brody Maack (701) 271-6363 bmaack@famhealthcare.org
First District Health Unit Minot Bonnie Riely (701) 837-5171 bfriely@nd.gov
Mid Dakota Clinic, Rosser Ave Bismarck Marie Jensen (701) 712-4591 Marie.Jensen@middakotaclinic.com
Quentin N. Burdick Memorial Hospital   Belcourt My-Oanh Nguyen (701) 477-8426 My-Oanh.Nguyen@ihs.gov
Sanford Bismarck Bismarck Teresa Kershaw (701) 323-2016
or 323-2935
Teresa.kershaw@sanfordhealth.org
Sanford Jamestown Jamestown Beverly Twedt (701) 253-4033  Beverly.Twedt@sanfordhealth.org
Sanford Medical Center Fargo Fargo Siri Thaden (701) 234-5892 Siri.Thaden@SanfordHealth.org
Sanford Clinic Wahpeton Wahpeton Nicole Wahler (701) 642-7000 Nicole.Wahler@SanfordHealth.org
Southwestern District Health Unit Dickinson Jennifer Schaeffer (701) 483-3760 jschaeffer@nd.gov
Walsh County Health District Grafton Sharon Laxdal (701) 352-5139 slaxdal@nd.gov


For more information on the National BABY & ME – Tobacco Free Program™, please visit www.babyandmetobaccofree.org. Free nicotine patches, gum, and lozenges are available to qualified enrollees with doctor approval. A specially trained quit coach will be dedicated to helping you all the way.


Quitting tobacco is one of the most important decisions you can make to improve your health and NDQuits looks forward to helping you quit.