Maternal Tobacco Program 

The goal of Maternal Tobacco Program is to reduce the number of health problems caused by tobacco use and secondhand smoke by decreasing the number of women who smoke during and after their pregnancy. Health problems for both mothers and babies include:

  • Pregnancy complications
  • Premature birth
  • Low-birth weight infants
  • Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS)

 

How the Program Works

Who is eligible?

Pregnant women who currently use tobacco products* or were using at the time of conception. Participants enroll before the 25th week of pregnancy and must be tobacco-free by the third prenatal session or 30th week, whichever is sooner, to remain in the program.

What does Maternal Tobacco Program offer?

One-on-one sessions with a tobacco treatment specialist (TTS) to help you plan your quit.

· Five prenatal sessions

· Six postpartum sessions

The TTS discusses the benefits of quitting, avoiding triggers, managing cravings, and recognizing emotions to stay tobacco-free.

The participant agrees to take a carbon monoxide (CO) breath test or a saliva test at each session. Participants are eligible for incentives when abstinent during the postpartum sessions.

Why?

Relapse is high after delivery. The Maternal Tobacco Program provides continued support to remain tobacco-free.

*cigarettes, chewing tobacco, or electronic nicotine devices/vape products.

To enroll, connect with your nearest North Dakota Maternal Tobacco Program provider:

 

Health System City Program Facilitator Phone Number email
Essentia Health Fargo Cheri Thomson (701) 364-4524  Cheri.Thomson@EssentiaHealth.org
Essentia Health Jamestown Nancy Nitschke (701) 253-5300 Nancy.Nitschke@EssentiaHealth.org
Essentia Health Wahpeton Lindsey Bommersbach (701) 671-4146 Lindsey.Bommersbach@EssentiaHealth.org
Family HealthCare Fargo Brody Maack (701) 271-6363 bmaack@famhealthcare.org
First District Health Unit Minot Bonnie Riely (701) 837-5171 bfriely@nd.gov
Mid Dakota Clinic, Rosser Ave Bismarck Marie Jensen (701) 712-4591 Marie.Jensen@middakotaclinic.com
Sanford Bismarck Bismarck Teresa Kershaw (701) 323-2016 or 323-2935 Teresa.kershaw@sanfordhealth.org
Sanford Jamestown Jamestown Beverly Twedt (701) 253-4033  Beverly.Twedt@sanfordhealth.org
Sanford Medical Center Fargo Fargo Siri Thaden (701) 234-5892 or 234-2000 Siri.Thaden@SanfordHealth.org
Kathryn Byrd kathryn.byrd@SanfordHealth.org
Sanford Clinic Wahpeton Wahpeton Nicole Wahler (701) 642-7000 Nicole.Wahler@SanfordHealth.org
Southwestern District Health Unit Dickinson Jennifer Schaeffer (701) 483-3760 jschaeffer@nd.gov
Walsh County Health District Grafton Sharon Laxdal (701) 352-5139 slaxdal@nd.gov

 

 Free nicotine patches, gum, and lozenges are available to qualified enrollees with doctor approval. A specially trained quit coach will be dedicated to helping you all the way.


Quitting tobacco is one of the most important decisions you can make to improve your health and NDQuits looks forward to helping you quit.