Skip to Content
[nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government ]
[North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends]

BABY & ME – Tobacco Free™

Quitting tobacco is the most important thing expectant mothers can do for their health and for the health of their baby. Currently in North Dakota, 11.5% of pregnant women smoke. If moms stay tobacco-free, their children stand a better chance of never starting.

The goal of BABY & ME – Tobacco Free™ is to reduce the number of health problems caused by tobacco use and secondhand smoke by decreasing the number of women who smoke during and after their pregnancy. Health problems for both mothers and babies include:

  • Pregnancy complications
  • Premature birth
  • Low-birth weight infants
  • Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS)

How the Program Works

Any pregnant woman who is currently a tobacco user, or was using tobacco products three months prior to becoming pregnant, is eligible for the program, regardless of income level.

Women enrolled in the program attend four prenatal sessions, where they receive information on tobacco cessation and take a carbon monoxide (CO) breath test. Program members return for breath tests at monthly post-partum visits for up to six months. If tobacco-free, the program member receives a $50 voucher at each postpartum session for any brand or size of diapers at participating stores.

To enroll, connect with your nearest North Dakota BABY & ME Program provider:

BABY & ME - Tobacco Free Contact List FY19
         
Grantee City Program Facilitator Phone Number email
Altru Health System Grand Forks Nicole Brien 701.780.5347  nbrien@Altru.org
Altru Clinic Devils Lake Nicole Brien 701.780.5347 nbrien@Altru.org
CHI St. Alexius Health Bismarck Rajean Backman 701.530.8538  rbackman@primecare.org
City-County Health District Valley City Heather Schwehr 701.845.8595   hschwehr@barnescounty.us
Essentia Health Fargo Cheri Thomson 701.364.4524  Cheri.Thomson@EssentiaHealth.org
Essentia Health Jamestown Rachel Wald 701.253.5378 Rachel.Wald@EssentiaHealth.org
Essentia Health Wahpeton Lindsey Bommersbach 701.671.4146 Lindsey.Bommersbach@EssentiaHealth.org
Family HealthCare Fargo Brody Maack 701.271.6363 bmaack@famhealthcare.org
First District Health Unit Minot Bonnie Riely 701.837.5171 bfriely@nd.gov
Quentin N. Burdick Memorial Hospital   Belcourt My-Oanh Nguyen 701.477.8426 My-Oanh.Nguyen@ihs.gov
Sanford Bismarck Bismarck Teresa Kershaw 701.323.2944 Teresa.kershaw@sanfordhealth.org
Sanford Jamestown Jamestown Beverly Twedt 701.253.4033  Beverly.Twedt@sanfordhealth.org
Sanford Medical Center Fargo Michelle Mattern 701.234.7716 Michelle.Mattern@SanfordHealth.org
Southwestern District Health Unit Dickinson Jennifer Schaeffer 701.483.3760 jschaeffer@nd.gov
Walsh County Health District Grafton Sharon Laxdal 701.352.5139 slaxdal@nd.gov
         


For more information on the National BABY & ME – Tobacco Free™ Program, please visit www.babyandmetobaccofree.org

Enroll in NDQuits Pregnancy Rewards, a free program designed specifically for pregnant women who want to quit smoking, vaping, or using smokeless tobacco.

Free nicotine patches, gum and lozenges are available to qualified enrollees with doctor approval. A specially trained quit coach will be dedicated to helping you all the way.

Members gain the best strategies for quitting, how to beat the cravings and how to remain tobacco free, along with a minimum of nine coaching calls – five during your pregnancy and four after your baby is born. You also have the choice of receiving motivational text messages to help you stay on track.

 

Enroll online

Enroll via phone